today’s thoughts

This morning I left the house at my usual time–as a matter of fact, I left a little early and thought I would be early. I was a half hour late. I turned out onto 235 and just as I got into the middle lane, I heard on the radio that gate 1 of the base was closed due to an accident that occurred Monday night. They said it will remain closed until they finish cleaning up. I instantly thought it had to be a terrible accident if the gate was going to be closed all day while they cleaned up from the accident.

So, I rode along, slowly, with everyone else. I decided that instead of trying to move into the left lane to get into gate 2, I would just stay where I was until I got past gate 2 then I would be able to get down to gate 3 quickly. I was right. Once I got past gate 2, the traffic was gone and I was able to move along to gate 3 at the normal speed.

I finally got into work about 8:10.

Then we found out that a construction worker was killed just before 10 last night. They have been doing construction at gate 1 in the evening hours.

Something like that sure puts things into perspective. A man was killed in a terrible accident. His family lost a loved one. A little traffic can’t compare to the loss his family is going to feel. Sure makes you stop and think of what is really most important in life.

This entry was posted in Reflections, spiritual, thoughts, September 2009. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment